If you are searching for a way to delete your Hotmail account for any reason. You’ve come to the right place. In this article, you’ll get to know all the easy steps to delete your Hotmail account for good. While you close your account, whether because you no longer need it or because it’s a duplicate account, you need to make sure of certain things.
Let’s have a quick look at the important points you need to know before deleting your Hotmail account.
Points to consider before deleting Hotmail Account
- Before deleting your account, verify that you don’t have an active subscription plan, or else Microsoft will block you from permanently closing your account.
- Keep in mind to spend any Skype credits before you close your account.
- You can’t close only the Hotmail account without closing the complete Window’s Live.
- Remove any credit cards before you blow away your account.
- It usually takes 60 days, to permanently delete your Hotmail account.
So, you must consider the above points before you make your mind to delete your Hotmail account.
When you’ve made up your mind to delete your Hotmail account permanently, Microsoft would make sure of two essential points.
- Primarily, Microsoft will make sure it’s you, not somebody trying to close your account.
- Additionally, that you are not leaving anything important behind you might need later.
Hence, to protect your account from accidentally, begin closed, Microsoft might also ask you to prove your identity and intentions.
Quick Read –
Before closing your Hotmail Account
Moreover, closing your Hotmail account means you won’t be able to use its sign-in to the Microsoft services. The service associated with the account includes:
- Saved Onedrive files.
- GamerTag and Xbox Live data.
- SkypeID & Contacts.
- Hotmail, Outlook.com, Live, and MSN email account.
Now, when you’ve decided to delete your account permanently, then follow the simple steps explained below.
How to Delete a Hotmail Account (Permanently)
- Sign in to your Hotmail, Outlook.com, or Windows Live from the link https://login.live.com/.
- Now that you’ve logged into your account, go to Close Account to manage your account setting.
- Click the Security option from the Microsoft Account page.
- Now, at the bottom of the page, click More Security Options.
- Next, you’ve to scroll down at the bottom of the account details page and click on the Close my Account link.
- At the final steps, Microsoft will inform you about the following things you must do before they finally close your account.
1.Cancel any Subscription 2.Use all the Skype credits 3.Use up your account balance 4.Set up automatic email replies 5.Disable reset protection.
- Next, select a reason from the drop-down list, opt for the reason you’re closing the account.
- Now, Mark accounts for closure.
After you close your Account
Microsoft waits for 60 days before permanently deleting your account. Yes, that’s right. In case you change your mind or want to access your account, all you need to do is log in to your account with the same login credentials, Microsoft will cancel your closure request, and you’ll get everything the way it was.